Getting Cheap Traffic To Your Offer

Filed Under (CPC) by Ross on 06-06-2008

Lets face it, Facebook overprices their traffic. You can buy mega targeted traffic from Google for around $0.35 a click with minimal work, or you could pay Facebook $0.80 a click for someone who saw a pretty picture and decided to click on it.

So why do people still advertise on Facebook? The easy answer is that Facebook wants to grab as much money as possible from people, so they reward ads that have a high CTR with more impressions and lower CPCs. Facebook has a pretty simple (yet inconsistent) formula that calculates how much they will make from showing one ad instead of another. Therefore, if your ad has a CTR of 0.3% and a max CPC of $0.10, it would be in their best interest to show it over an ad that has a CTR of 0.05 with a max CPC of $0.35.

So how do you get a high CPC? There really is no finite answer unfortunately, however brushing up on your psychology and market research helps.

Tips for getting a high CTR:

  1. Microtarget - Instead of targeting the entire United States, target specific States or even Cities. People from different regions like different things.
  2. Relate - Make your ad feel like it’s specifically aimed at them. Including their interests, gender, anything you may know about your target audience WILL help.
  3. Image Selection - Choose an image that is relevant and eye catching. Read up on your psychology of colors. Here is a great thread from Wickedfire on the matter.
  4. One Ad Per Audience - A lot of people may dispute me on this, however in my testings I have observed that a high CTR is achieved if you only have ONE ad running for each audience. For example, you should only have one ad targeting males and another targeting females.

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